Public Document Pack



Committee: Appeals Panel

Date: Tuesday 21 March 2017

Time: 10.00 am

Venue Bodicote House, Bodicote, Banbury, Oxon, OX15 4AA

Membership

Councillor Richard Mould (Chairman) Councillor Carmen Griffiths (Vice-Chairman)

Councillor Hannah Banfield Councillor Mike Bishop

Councillor Nick Cotter Councillor Timothy Hallchurch MBE

Councillor Tony llott Councillor James Macnamara
Councillor Alastair Milne-Home Councillor Douglas Webb

AGENDA

1. Apologies for Absence

2. Declarations of Interest

Members are asked to declare any interest and the nature of that interest that they may have in any items under consideration at this meeting.

3. Minutes (Pages 1 - 10)

To confirm as correct records the Minutes of the meetings held on 6 February 2013 (attached for Committee Members only), 15 May 2013, 16 June 2014, 19 May 2015 and 17 May 2016.

4. Exclusion of Press and Public

The following item contains exempt information as defined in the following paragraphs of Part 1, Schedule 12A of Local Government Act 1972.

1 - Information relating to an individual.

- 2 Information which is likely to reveal the identity of an individual.
- 4 Information relating to any consultations or negotiations, or contemplated consultations or negotiations, in connection with any labour relations matter arising between the authority or a Minister and employees of, or office holders under the authority.

Members are reminded that whilst the following item has been marked as exempt, it is for the meeting to decide whether or not to consider each of them in private or in public. In making the decision, members should balance the interests of individuals or the Council itself in having access to the information. In considering their discretion members should also be mindful of the advice of Council Officers.

Should Members decide not to make a decision in public, they are recommended to pass the following recommendation:

"That, in accordance with Section 100A(4) of Local Government Act 1972, the press and public be excluded form the meeting for the following item of business, on the grounds that it could involve the likely disclosure of exempt information as defined in paragraphs 1, 2 and 4 of Schedule 12A of that Act."

5. Appeal Hearing (Pages 11 - 656)

Please note that papers for this meeting will only be circulated to those Members who have confirmed they will be sitting on the Panel.

Information about this Agenda

Apologies for Absence

Apologies for absence should be notified to natasha.clark@cherwellandsouthnorthants.gov.uk or 01295 221589 prior to the start of the meeting.

Declarations of Interest

Members are asked to declare interests at item 2 on the agenda or if arriving after the start of the meeting, at the start of the relevant agenda item.

Local Government and Finance Act 1992 – Budget Setting, Contracts & Supplementary Estimates

Members are reminded that any member who is two months in arrears with Council Tax must declare the fact and may speak but not vote on any decision which involves budget setting, extending or agreeing contracts or incurring expenditure not provided for in the agreed budget for a given year and could affect calculations on the level of Council Tax.

Queries Regarding this Agenda

Please contact Natasha Clark, Democratic and Elections natasha.clark@cherwellandsouthnorthants.gov.uk, 01295 221589

Ian Davies Interim Head of Paid Service

Published on Monday 13 March 2017



Agenda Item 3

By virtue of paragraph(s) 1, 2, 4 of Part 1 of Schedule 12A of the Local Government Act 1972.



Appeals Panel

Minutes of a meeting of the Appeals Panel held at Bodicote House, Bodicote, Banbury, Oxon, OX15 4AA, on 15 May 2013 at 7.43 pm

Present: Councillor Fred Blackwell (Chairman)

Councillor P A O'Sullivan (Vice-Chairman)

Councillor Mrs Diana Edwards

Councillor Tim Emptage

Councillor Timothy Hallchurch MBE

Councillor Simon Holland Councillor Tony Ilott Councillor Ray Jelf Councillor Gordon Ross Councillor Douglas Webb

1 Appointment of Chairman

Resolved

That Councillor Fred Blackwell be appointed Chairman of the Appeals Panel for the municipal year 2013/14.

2 Appointment of Vice-Chairman

Resolved

That Councillor Paul O'Sullivan be appointed Chairman of the Appeals Panel for the municipal year 2013/14.

The meeting ended at 7.44 pm

Chairman:

Date:



Appeals Panel

Minutes of a meeting of the Appeals Panel held at Bodicote House, Bodicote, Banbury, Oxon, OX15 4AA, on 16 June 2014 at 7.26pm

Present: Councillor Douglas Webb (Chairman)

Councillor Ray Jelf (Vice-Chairman)

Councillor Claire Bell Councillor Fred Blackwell Councillor Carmen Griffiths Councillor Russell Hurle Councillor Tony llott Councillor Alaric Rose Councillor Rose Stratford Councillor Bryn Williams

1 Appointment of Chairman for the Municipal Year 2014/15

Resolved

That Councillor Douglas Webb be appointed Chairman of the Appeals Panel for the municipal year 2014/15.

2 Appointment of Vice-Chairman for the Municipal Year 2014/15

Resolved

That Councillor Ray Jelf be appointed Vice-Chairman of the Appeals Panel for the municipal year 2014/15.

The meeting ended at 7.27 pm

Chairman:

Date:



Appeals Panel

Minutes of a meeting of the Appeals Panel held at Bodicote House, Bodicote, Banbury, Oxon, OX15 4AA, on 19 May 2015 at 7.35 pm

Present: Councillor Douglas Webb (Chairman)

Councillor Ray Jelf (Vice-Chairman)

Councillor Andrew Beere Councillor Fred Blackwell Councillor Russell Hurle Councillor Tony Ilott

Councillor James Macnamara Councillor Richard Mould

Apologies

Councillor Timothy Hallchurch MBE

for

absence:

1 Appointment of Chairman for the Municipal Year 2015-2016

Resolved

That Councillor Douglas Webb be appointed Chairman of the Appeals Panel for the municipal year 2015/16.

2 Appointment of Vice-Chairman for the Municipal 2015-2016

Resolved

That Councillor Ray Jelf be appointed Vice-Chairman of the Appeals Panel for the municipal year 2015/16.

The meeting ended at 7.37 pm

Chairman:

Date:



Appeals Panel

Minutes of a meeting of the Appeals Panel held at Bodicote House, Bodicote, Banbury, Oxon, OX15 4AA, on 17 May 2016 at 7.20 pm

Present: Councillor Richard Mould (Chairman)

Councillor Carmen Griffiths (Vice-Chairman)

Councillor Hannah Banfield Councillor Mike Bishop Councillor Nick Cotter

Councillor Timothy Hallchurch MBE Councillor James Macnamara Councillor Alastair Milne-Home Councillor Douglas Webb

Apologies

Councillor Tony llott

for

absence:

1 Appointment of Chairman for the Municipal Year 2016-2017

Resolved

That Councillor Richard Mould be appointed Chairman of the Appeals Panel for the municipal year 2016-2017.

2 Appointment of Vice-Chairman for the Municipal Year 2016-2017

Resolved

That Councillor Carmen Griffiths be appointed Vice-Chairman of the Appeals Panel for the municipal year 2016-2017.

The meeting ended at 7.22 pm

Chairman:

Date:



Agenda Item 5

By virtue of paragraph(s) 1, 2, 4 of Part 1 of Schedule 12A of the Local Government Act 1972.









